Application limits

For almost all REST methods there are no restrictions on the number and frequency of calls.
Limits can appear on a case-by-case basis, if application calls affect API.

Limit on the number of notifications

The number of notifications that the application can deliver to its users per day (from 4.00 to 4.00 of the following morning). Once the limit is reached, the delivery is stopped (sendMass) and any notifications (sendSimple) are forbidden. At 4.00, the counter is reset, and the restrictions are lifted.

The limit is set on a case-by-case basis for each application following a certain formula. The data for the formula are received from statistics that is reset at 4.00 every morning.

Statistics that is used in the formula to set the limit:

  • average number of notifications sent in a day per one active user for all applications. An active user is a user that has authorized in the application at least once in the last 6 months. The data on notifications sent are collected for the 7 day period.
  • the number of active application users
  • the number of reactions to notifications sent in the last 7 days for this application. Quality is the ratio of all positive responses to notifications to negative ones.

The number of reactions to notifications directly influences the limit that will be allocated to the application in the next period. The higher it is as compared to the average portal number, the more notifications are allocated to the application in the next period. And conversely, if the quality is lower than the portal average, the application will not be able to send as many notifications.

The application can influence the quality of reactions to it in the following way:

  • raise the overall quality of notifications
  • target delivery to narrower, specific user types that will be interested in notifications
  • the growth of the number of active users increases the limit proportionally

The application statistics page has a panel for monitoring the notification counter, allocated limit size, as well as input data of the limit calculation formula.

The user can have up to 6 notifications from the application at the same time (5 mass ones and 1 personal).

For better delivery targeting user masks can be used.

User mask

We provide resources for every application to store 32 bit-sized data on the user. users.updateMasks. This method allows for storing any set of bytes on the portal side and also retrieve it. For instance, you can use a certain byte to mark users that follow under a category or that have done an important action. Or you can reset it.

Categories identified, and all the appropriate users marked (marking can be gradual, when users perform a certain action, achieve something, etc.), the application starts to have its own intersecting sets. These sets can be “played with” to narrow notification targeting. For this, the method was supplemented with options that help to deliver notifications only to those users whose mask criteria satisfy the set condition.

Despite that in general the user mask is supposed to be used as a filter when delivering sendMass notifications, the application can use it for storing any other information.

Ограничения приложения

Для практически всех REST методов отсутствуют ограничения на количество и частоту вызовов.
Лимиты могут появиться в индивидуальном порядке, если вызовы приложения негативно влияют на работу API.

Ограничение количества нотификаций

Количество нотификаций, которое приложение сможет донести до своих пользователей в течении суток (с 4:00 и до 4:00 следующего утра). По достижению лимита, прекращается доставка (sendMass) и запрещается отправка (sendSimple) нотификаций. В 4 00 счетчик сбрасывается, и ограничения снимаются.

Величина лимита устанавливается в отдельности для каждого приложения по определенной формуле. Данные для формулы берутся из статистических данных, которые обновляется в 4:00 каждого утра.

Статистические данные, которые используются в формуле для определения величины лимита:

  • среднее количество отправленных нотификаций в сутки на одного активного пользователя по всем приложениям. Активный пользователь – это пользователь, который авторизовался в приложении хотя бы один раз в течении последних 6 месяцев. Данные по отправленным нотификациям берутся за период в 7 дней.
  • количество активных пользователей у приложения
  • качество реакций на отправленные нотификации за последние 7 дней для данного приложения. Качество – это отношение количества всех позитивных откликов на нотификации к количеству негативных.

Качество реакций на нотификации приложения напрямую влияет на величину лимита, который будет выделен ему в следующий период. Чем выше оно относительно среднего по порталу, тем больше нотификаций выделится приложению в следующий период. И напротив, если качество ниже общепортального, то и нотификаций оно сможет отправить меньше.

Влиять на качество реакций приложение может следующими способами:

  • повышать общее качество нотификаций
  • таргетировать рассылку на более узкие, но специфичные наборы пользователей, которым они будут интересны
  • увеличение числа активных пользователей пропорционально увеличивает лимит

На странице статистики приложения присутствует панель для мониторинга счетчика нотификаций, величины выделенного лимита, а также входных даных формулы расчета лимита.

У пользователя одновременно может быть до 6 нотификаций от приложения (5 массовых и 1 персональная).

Для лучшего таргетирования рассылок можно использовать маски для пользователей.

Маска пользователя

Мы предоставляем ресурсы каждому приложению по хранению информации о пользователе размером 32 бита. users.updateMasks. Этот метод позволяет хранить на стороне портала любой набор битов и так же его считывать. Например, помечать определенным битом пользователей, подпадающих под какую либо категорию, или совершивших какое либо важное действие. Либо сбрасывать его.

Определив категории, а затем с помощью маски помечая всех нужных пользователей (пометку можно делать постепенно, при совершении пользователей определенных действий, достижений и прочее), у приложения появляются свои пересекающиеся наборы. Этими наборами можно «играться» для более узкого таргетировании нотификаций. Для этого в сам метод были добавлены опции, с помощью которых нотификации будут доходить только до тех пользователей, у которых критерий маски будет удовлетворять указанному условию.

Не смотря на то, что маска пользователя в основном предназначена для использования как фильтра при рассылке sendMass нотификаций, приложение может использовать её для хранения любой другой информации.